Blogging Jogging

So, I have a new project (because I needed something else to do, right?). I’m doing science writing and run blogging for a really cool website called Trail and Ultra Running. For those unfamiliar with the terms, trail running takes place on unpaved trails (yeah, you probably knew that), and ultra running refers to distances further than a marathon (26.2 miles). I’m not necessarily sure that my readership will intersect to a tremendous extent, but I know some of you are runners. You don’t even have to be a trail/ultra runner to find cool stuff on the site; there are gear reviews, training articles, and all sorts of other resources. Part of what I’ll be doing there is analysis of fitness- and exercise-related science (much the way I do at SquintMom, but with less lactating and more lactate threshold).

The other part of what I’ll be doing is blogging about my experiences training for my very first ultramarathon. I’m aiming for a 50-mile race in October. While I’ve done a bunch of marathons and some other endurance sporting events — like Ironman — I’ve never run further than a marathon…unless you count the extra yardage I gained while dashing off repeatedly into the bushes during one particularly memorable marathon in which I was having gut trouble. {Yeah, maybe I didn’t need to share that}.

Anyway, check out the site if you’re in the mood. If nothing else, you can get a good laugh out of my nutty attempt to train for a 50-mile race while pushing a jogging stroller (I won’t be pushing the stroller during the race).

 

What’s the craziest thing you’ve ever attempted (sport or otherwise)?

 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashley @ C is for Cockerham
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 11:42:43

    And I thought I was doing good training for a 5K in May. I probably couldn’t even bike 50 miles right now. You are a beast. Good luck in October!!!

    Reply

    • SquintMom
      Apr 02, 2012 @ 14:20:02

      It’s awesome that you’re training for a 5K! The thing is, longer races aren’t necessarily harder. I’ve run 5Ks that made me WAAAAY more miserable than some of the marathons I’ve done. Good luck to you!

      Reply

  2. BabyAttachMode
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 11:50:06

    Wow I’m super impressed with your intention to run a 50 mile ultra marathon!! The furthest I’ve ran is only 10 miles (the furthest I’ve cycled is 140 miles in one day though). But that wasn’t why I was commenting. I was wondering if you’re reading sealegsgirl.blogspot.com; she’s an MD, has two kids and writes about ultra running. I found her blog when I was googling for running while being pregnant (which she did). Thought you might be interested.

    Reply

  3. Alice Callahan
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 13:13:18

    This is so cool, and I am super-impressed that you are taking on an ultra! I would love to see articles – here or on your new gig – on running with a jogging stroller. I have always wondered about the recommendations for when it is safe to start running with baby in a jogging stroller. At one point I looked for literature on it and found nothing. Runners have lots of different opinions about it, and the few pediatricians I asked didn’t seem to know. I fretted over this decision a lot and I think started running with BabyC around 5 months, but we were walking on dirt trails before then, and I think when I started running on smooth pavement it was an easy ride for her. And would also love to hear more about tips for good form when running with a jogger. I will say that running with a stroller has made me really strong! I do lots of short runs with BabyC, but then when I’m on my own for the long ones I feel super strong on hills! Anyway, I’ll be reading along through your training with interest. Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

